Happy Sir Ryan Giggs Day!

Giggsy’s hairy chest invites you in…

 

 

 

“When I made my debut, I was on YTS (youth training scheme), earning £29.50 a week, and £10 expenses. Forty quid, and I was in the first team. It didn’t bother me.”

 

 

 

 

 

” I didn’t become a footballer to be famous, I became a footballer to be successful. I didn’t want to be famous. Now people want to be famous. Why? Why would you want people following you about all day? I couldn’t think of anything worse.”

 

 

 

 

 

In recent years, Giggs has become a UNICEF representative, launching a campaign in 2002 to prevent landmines from killing children. Giggs visited UNICEF projects in Thailand and told the BBC: “As a footballer I can’t imagine life without the use of one of my legs… Sadly this is exactly what happens to thousands of children every year when they accidentally step on a landmine.”

 

 

“You think this can’t be happening, this can’t exist. You hear about it, but then you see it and you think, ‘How can they be living like that?’ I’ve seen things that beggar belief. You think, ‘That’s what’ll stick in my mind,’ and then you see something else and that has a massive effect on you.” Has it upset him? “Yeah. Yeah. It has, yeah.”

 

 

 

 

 

Receiving his OBE

With kids Liberty and Zach.

 

His incredibly lifelike self-portrait.

 

 

 

 

 

Thank you Giggsy!


This entry was posted in It's your birthday! and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Sir Ryan Giggs Day!

  1. fadhili says:

    I love man united

Leave a Reply

